Sports Academies

Rugby at Gower College Swansea

Gower College Swansea Sport Academies regularly produce top level competitors and coaches in their chosen sports. There are seven separate sports academies providing coaching and elite level competition for students.

In recent years Gower College Swansea has become one of the most successful sports colleges in the UK with teams regularly winning regional and national competitions. Individual students have also gained professional contracts and been selected for international teams.

Former students Leigh Halfpenny and Justin Tipuric recently played on the successful British Lions Tour of Australia, with Leigh being named player of the series.

Academy sport has strong links with professional sport and national governing bodies:

  • Ospreys Rugby
  • Swansea City Community Trust
  • FAW Trust Focus College
  • Hockey Wales
  • Welsh Netball Association
  • Glamorgan Cricket/England and Wales Cricket Board

A number of coaches are involved at international level coaching in their respective sports and players regularly move on to professional and elite level contracts.

All students on the programme are encouraged to gain coaching qualifications and experience in their chosen sports. In 2012/13 over 300 students completed a total of 1500 hours of sports coaching in the community.

Cricket Academy

The Cricket academy train throughout the winter and compete in select invitational competitions in the summer term:

  • Exeter University Inter Academy Pro 40 Tournament
  • Christ College Brecon T20
  • Monmouth School pro 40
  • BCS Sport T20 Cup

Co-ordinator: Mike O’Brien mike.obrien@gowercollegeswansea.ac.uk
Head Coach: Alan Jones

Hockey Academy

  • 2013 BCS South West League Champions
  • 2013 BCS National Championships (2nd)
  • 2013 WCS League Winners
  • 2013 BCS Midlands League Winners (mixed)

Co-ordinator: Sian Fowler  sian.fowler@gowercollegeswansea.ac.uk

Rugby Academy

  • 2012 British Colleges Sport National Plate Winners

League: WRU Colleges League (games televised on S4C and Scrum V)
Co-ordinator: Dan Cluroe  dan.cluroe@gowercollegeswansea.ac.uk
 

Football Academy
Men’s Football

  • 2013 ECFA Premier League Champions
  • 2013 ECFA Regional League Champions
  • 2012 ECFA Premier Cup Winners
  • 2012 WSFA Cup Winners

League: ECFA Premier League

Co-ordinator: Richard South  richard.south@gowercollegeswansea.ac.uk

Ladies Football

  • 2012 WSFA Cup Winners
  • 2013 Welsh Colleges Sport League Champions

League: WCS League

Head Coach: Andrew Stokes  andrew.stokes@gowercollegeswansea.ac.uk

Netball Academy
 

  • 2013 WCS Division 2 League Champions

Co-ordinator: Sarah Lewis  sarah.lewis@gowercollgeswansea.ac.uk
 

Surf Academy

  • BCS Water Sports Champions 2012
  • Morocco Trip 2012
  • Portugal Trip 2013
  • Regular training in Surfing, SUP, Surf Lifesaving and swimming

Co-ordinators:
Lee Hopkins  lee.hopkins@gowercollegeswansea.ac.uk
Ian Peabody  ian.peabody@gowercollegeswansea.ac.uk

Book now for our special Back to School themed evening on Thursday 2 October. Starts at 6pm. £25 per head....
Vanilla Pod food hygiene rating
We are absolutely delighted to confirm that the Vanilla Pod, following an impromptu visit by a local...
Swansea City footballer Ashley Williams recently surprised students at Gower College Swansea's Gorseinon...
Students stocked up on some autumn/winter clothing essentials after winning vouchers for Outfit stores in a...
Three Hospitality and Catering students from Gower College Swansea spent time in the United States over the...